IABM 2019 Awards

Presented on Wednesday 4 December as part of the IABM Annual International Business Conference & Awards

Royal Garden Hotel, Kensington, London

This event provides a fantastic social experience over a delicious three-course meal. A number of prestigious awards will also be presented to recognize people and organizations that have made significant contributions to the broadcast and media industry around the world.

To submit a nomination for one of our awards (excluding the Peter Wayne Golden BaM™ Award), please click the buttons below. Upon clicking, you will be taken to our external awards submission platform, if you haven't used this platform before then you will be prompted to create an account, please note this is a different account to your IABM website one. If you have any problems or questions around the submission process please email marketing@theiabm.org.

Deadline for nominations - Friday 15 November 2019.

Peter Wayne Golden BaM Award

The Peter Wayne Golden BaM award was inaugurated by the IABM in 1990 in memory of a former Deputy Chairman of the Association, Peter Wayne. All the 20 winners of the IABM’s NAB Show and IBC BaM Awards® are automatically shortlisted for the year’s top broadcast and media technology prize – the Peter Wayne Golden BaM Award® for Design and Innovation. 

Broadcast/Media Company of the Year

This award recognizes and rewards broadcasters or media companies that have demonstrated throughout the year that they are at the forefront of creating and distributing ground-breaking content through innovation across the content chain.

Broadcaster of the year award - NEP

2018 winner - NEP Australia

NEP Australia won the 2018 Award for its continent-wide and intercontinental IP remote production, with two hubs – Sydney and Melbourne – connecting with 29 sporting venues utilizing over two thousand SMPTE ST 2110 links.

Creative Collaboration Award

This award celebrates ground-breaking innovations that have been realised through creative collaboration between technology suppliers and their customers, recognizing break-through solutions resulting from close partnerships that provide measurable commercial or creative benefits to the customer.

Creative Collaboration award winner 2018 - Fox Sports

2018 winner - Fox Sports

For its FIFA World Cup coverage, FOX Sports wanted to send live video from Russia to editors and producers in Los Angeles for quick packaging and turn around to air in live shows being hosted in Russia. In essence, the network wanted to achieve the appearance of a live broadcast fully staffed on-the-scene, without the majority of the staff actually on-scene.

IABM Friend and Colleague Andrew Jones

The Andrew Jones Young Person of the Year Award


This award has been renamed in honour of our friend and colleague Andrew Jones who we sadly lost in March 2019. Andrew was IABM's Head of Training and played a vital part in the development of our educational initiatives and fostering the next generation of talented people for our industry.

Andrew had a major impact on IABM’s knowledge and educational capability and that will make up part of his huge legacy to us and the industry, his mantra was ‘Never stop learning’ and he inspired many with his passion for knowledge and its communication.

The award recognises someone new to the industry (under 25 years old) for their hard work, diligence and potential.

IABM young person of the year 2018 Dominik Schulz

2018 winner - Dominik Schulz

A student at RheinMain University of Applied Sciences, Dominik was one of the IABM-sponsored students attending IBC and his submission from that event demonstrated excellent use of the opportunity. In his report he provided a detailed account of how the industry is changing and the key developments shaping the future. He achieved this through an intensive schedule of time spent in the conference, the exhibition, the future zone and discussions with industry experts. He covered many topic areas including new image formats, camera technology, virtual and augmented reality and immersive audio. Dominik is clearly a rising star and one to watch out for in the near future.

In Dominik’s own words: “As a media technology student my visit to IBC made me just dream a little bigger about an exciting future in the broadcast and media industry”.

Technology Leader of the Year

This award recognizes a person who is at the forefront of disruption and innovation within the broadcast and media industry who, through inspired leadership, has helped to deliver ground-breaking technology and business benefits.

Technology leader of the year 2018 Mike Cronk

2018 winner - Mike Cronk

As a founder of AIMS, and Chairman of its Board, Michael has been a driving force in inspiring the industry towards a clear, efficient path to standards-based, interoperable IP.

“Mike has played a pivotal role in clearing the way forward to an IP future,” said Peter White, CEO, IABM. “I can think of no one more deserving of this recognition for what he has helped achieve with AIMS over the last two years – while also more than holding down his day-job at Grass Valley!”